Skip to main content
NaturaLawn® of America, Inc. The Leader In Organic-Based Lawn Care®

NaturaLawn of America Announces 2022 Dan Collins Scholarship Winners

Three students receive educational funds.

FREDERICK, Md. — NaturaLawn® of America has announced the winners of the annual Dan Collins Scholarship Award, providing three college-bound high school graduates with funds to assist in educational expenses. First place recipient Cody Lehman, of Luzerne County, PA, was announced as the first-place award recipient, receiving a $4,000 scholarship. Landis Crawford, of Crawford County, PA, was selected as the award's second place recipient, and received a $2,000 scholarship. Third place recipient Kaitlyn Vierra, of Bristol County, MA, received a $1,000 scholarship award.

The NaturaLawn® of America Dan Collins Scholarship was established in 2017 in memory of Dan Collins, a NaturaLawn® of America franchise owner from Richmond, Va. who passed away from cancer in 2005. Collins was known for his kind heart and "larger-than-life," gentlemanly manner. The scholarship named in his honor seeks to recognize high school or undergraduate students who exhibit similar generosity of character and goodwill.

The 2022 selection process proved competitive, with applicants from over 30 states and multiple countries. Phil Catron, president and founder of NaturaLawn® of America, stated of the selected candidates, "We are so pleased to assist these very deserving young adults in realizing their educational goals and easing the cost of the journey ahead of them. We're eager to follow their paths and are sure they will achieve great success in their future endeavors."

First place winner Cody Lehman is pursuing his passion at Penn State University in the field of plant and soil science. His long-term goal is to contribute to agriculture by helping producers manage their crops and soil for increased sustainability and profitability. Landis Crawford will attend Penn State Behrend University in the fall of 2022 to study biological engineering, while Kaitlyn Vierra will attend University to pursue her degree in health science.

Cody R Lehman, 2022 first place winner of The Dan Collins Scholarship Award offered by NaturaLawn® of America.

Cody R. Lehman

2022 First Place Winner
Landis J Crawford, 2022 second place winner of The Dan Collins Scholarship Award offered by NaturaLawn® of America.

Landis J. Crawford

2022 Second Place Winner
Kaitlyn F Vierra, 2022 third place winner of The Dan Collins Scholarship Award offered by NaturaLawn® of America.

Kaitlyn F. Vierra

2022 Third Place Winner

NaturaLawn® of America first introduced The Dan Collins Scholarship Award in 2017 with a single student applying for the $4,000 scholarship. The scholarship was expanded in 2019, in order to offer three scholarship awards. In 2021, the total amount awarded was raised from $5,500 in 2020 to $7,000.

NaturaLawn® of America’s environmentally-friendly approach to lawn care has been creating green lawns quickly, more naturally, and with fewer weeds since 1987. NaturaLawn® of America is a national lawn care franchise system with 34 owners holding 92 licenses, servicing over 125,000 customers in 26 states and the District of Columbia. For more information on the Dan Collins Scholarship and NaturaLawn® of America, visit